Macosquin WI elect their new President

Have your say

OUT going President, Mrs Daphne King welcomed a large attendance for the Annual General Meeting.

There was a special welcome for Margaret McBride who was back after surgery and a stay in hosptial.

The Chairman for the meeting was Mrs Inez Richmond ably assited by tellers Mrs Hazel Wassona and Mrs Lillian McConaghie.

A committee of 14 was elected.

Georgina Henry was elected as the new President.

A delicious supper was served by the tea hostesses for the evening.

The annual trophies were presented: The Burke trophy was won by Vera Kennedy with Rose Watson second and Agnes Kennedy third.

The Jubilee Cup winners were Georgina Henry, Eileen Richmond and Eleanor Kerr.

The October competition for an apple tart was keenly contested. Vivienne Wright took first place, with Elizabeth Nevin and Eileen Richmond coming second and third respectively.

Daphne King thanked her committee for the past year and congratulated Georgina on being elected as the new President.

The evening concluded with ‘A Country Woman’s Song’.

The next meeting will be in the Parish Centre on November 14 - the theme will be a ‘count down to Christmas’.