‘Good Vibrations’ at Portstewart Golf Club

editorial image
Have your say

Winter League Team ‘The Beach boys’, captained by Lady President May Johnston, surged to the number one spot in the six week competition held on the Riverside course.

The teams competing were all named after pop groups and the successful competitors were presented with prizes by Lady Captain Mo Giffin at the annual winter league supper on Friday 8 March

‘Queen’, captained by Marion Hamilton, came home in second place

The individual weekly winners were Doreen Fleming (two weeks), Caroline McMullan, Louie Fillis, Liz Ward and Philomena Kelly. The overall individual winner and recipient of the Winter League Shield was 18 handicapper Doreen Fleming

Entertainment was provided when each team presented a rendition of the songs made famous by their pop group. A big thank you goes to the accomplished Robert Rainey who provided the outstanding piano support for the Groups presentations. A flamboyant performance by Terry McCullough from ‘Queen’ produced a second place to ‘I’m a believer’ from ‘The Monkees’, led by Deidre Stewart. The overall prize for the best themed group went inevitably to ‘Queen’.

The highly entertaining evening concluded with the Lady Captain Mo Giffin presenting the remaining prizes played for over the winter months.

December monthly medal winner - Lady Captain Mo Giffin; Runner up - Anne Barr

January monthly medal winner - Heather Rainey; Runner up - Maureen Austin

February monthly medal winner - Shelia Aicken; Runner up - Nichole Morelli

March monthly medal winner - Julie Corbett; Runner up - Evelyn McFadden

Team Scramble winners were Anne Barr, Rosie Millar and Hazel Browne - just ahead of the team of Sheelagh Duffy, Evelyn O’Neill, and Corinna O’Neill. In February the team Stableford Competition was won by Hazel Browne, Rebecca Lemon and Lady Captain Mo Giffin.

Susan Anderson won The Riverside Ringer with Eleanor McLaughlin as runner up. On the Strand course the Winter Ringer best reduction was won by Kathleen McIlfatrick. Section A winner was Maggie Penny with Mary Glover Runner up. In section B Terry McCullough took first place with Susan Kelly second. The overall Strand Ringer and recipient of the Ina Smyth trophy was Anne Barr.

Prizes were also presented to Par and Birdie Ladder winners The Parr Ladder was won by Caroline McMullan with Ann Paul second and Lynn McCartney in third place. In the Birdie Ladder Anne Barr, playing off 14 narrowly beat Rosie King with Anne Agnew in third place.