Tough start for Seniors

editorial image
0
Have your say

Eoghan Rua will get their Division 1 league campaign off to the toughest possible start this season with a trip to Derry and Ulster champions Ballinderry on Sunday 13th April.

Indeed by that stage Ballinderry could well be All-Ireland club champions as they play their semi-final against Dublin kingpins St Vincents this Saturday afternoon at Pairc Esler in Newry (5.00pm throw-in) with the final on St Patrick’s Day in Croke Park.

The other semi-final sees Mayo’s Castlebar Mitchesl take on Kerry’s Dr Crokes.

Eoghan Rua’s first home game will be against Derry city side Steelstown on Sunday 20th April. The Coleraine club has not done too badly from the new draw for league games this season as they have eight of their fifteen-game campaign at home.

Their home games are Dungiven (Round 4) Sunday 4th May; Loup (Round 6) Sunday 8th May; Ballinascreen (Round 8) 8th June; Swatragh (Round 10) 28th June; then back to back against Banagher (Rouind 12) Sunday 13th July and Foreglen (Round 13) Friday 18th July with the final outing of the season at home to Glenullin in Round 15 on Sunday 10th August.

In Round 3 on Sunday 27th April Eoghan Rua travel to Bellaghy with further away games at Newbridge in Round 5 on Sunday 11th May; Round 7 Sunday 1st June at Magherafelt; they travel to Lavey in Round 9 on Sunday 14th June while Slaughtneil is the venue for Round 11 on Sunday 6th July.

Eoghan Rua’s final away fixture of the campaign sees them make the short journey to Kilrea in Round 14 on 3rd August.

Meanwhile, Derry’s long trip home from Killarney was a whole lot sweeter following their shock 0-16 to 0-14 win over the Kingdom in their Allianz League Division 1 clash last Sunday afternoon. A superb two points for Derry on the road to add to the point they gained against Tyrone last week has left them in good shape following their opening two league games. Their next outing is in a couple of weeks’ time at home to winless Westmeath.