Coleraine students nominated by Royal TV Society

Two Coleraine students have been nominated by The Royal Television Society Northern Ireland (RTS NI) for this year’s Student Television Awards.

Tuesday, 23rd March 2021, 11:31 am
UTV’s Katie Andrews host of this year’s RTS NI Student Awards

Now in its 8th year, the RTS NI Student Awards Ceremony will be hosted by UTV’s Katie Andrews tomorrow night (Wednesday, March24) at 7pm on the RTS NI website

Northern Regional College, Coleraine, students Lyndsay Clarke and Phillip Steele have been nominated for thier work ‘Antisocial Behaviour’ in the Animation Category.

Aidan Browne, Chair of the RTS NI Students Awards said: “The RTS is first and foremost an educational charity and these Awards give us the opportunity to celebrate the exceptional audiovisual work being created by students in all manner of disciplines here in Northern Ireland. We are delighted to provide our emerging talent with a high-profile platform to showcase their work. The local universities and colleges are to be congratulated for the vital role they play in ensuring our future generations graduate with the skills necessary ready to start work in the fast moving and vibrant Northern Ireland creative industries sector.”

Bernard McCloskey, Head of Education, Northern Ireland Screen said: “Northern Ireland Screen is delighted to be able to support these awards in partnership with RTS NI. The awards are a great way to nurture and encourage the fantastic emerging creative talent we have here in Northern Ireland.”

UTV production journalist Katie Andrews, host of the RTS NI Student Awards says: “The RTS NI plays a huge role in supporting the next generation of content creators and winning one of these awards provides students with a prestigious accolade to help them with their future careers.”

The nominees for this year’s Awards are:

Animation Category

Antisocial Behaviour: Lyndsay Clarke and Phillip Steele, Northern Regional College, Coleraine.

The Forlorn Piscator: Matthew McGuigan, Ulster University, Belfast.

Non-Scripted Category

Isolation: Overcoming Adversity as a Community: Aodhan Roberts, North West Regional College.

The Rising of Jordan Adetunji: Joe Warden, Nathan Emery and Reece Williams, Ulster University, Coleraine.

Scripted Category

High & Dry: Benedict Goddard, Sam Bell, Ross Cullen, Morgyn Lutton and Ethan Rea, Queen’s University Belfast.

She Cries at Night: Stephen Parker, Jane McLoughlin, John Lennox and Josh Bell, Northern Ireland Film and Television School at SERC, Bangor.

The winners of these Awards go forward to the national RTS Student Media Awards in June and will also be invited to this year’s RTS NI Programme Awards in November, where their work will be showcased in front of top professionals from across the screen industries.