DUP announce candidates for May elections

DUP candidates at Coleraine Town Hall on Saturday.CR10-110SC.
DUP candidates at Coleraine Town Hall on Saturday.CR10-110SC.
Share this article

The DUP has this week announced their candidates for the forthcoming elections in May for the new Causeway Coast and Glens District Council.

The new Northern Ireland council structures will mean new boundaries for electoral areas.

There will now only be three electoral wards, in what was Coleraine Borough Council.

The Bann electoral area stays the same, and in that ward there are five seats available.

The DUP will have two candidates running, both currently sit on Coleraine Borough Council - Sam Cole and Michelle Knight McQuillan.

In the new Coleraine Town ward - taking in what used to be Coleraine Central and part of Coleraine East - four candidates will run for six seats. Three of the candidates are current councillors - Trevor Clarke, George Duddy and Phyliss Fielding, throwing her hat in the ring is Tracey Craig.

In the Causeway Electoral Ward - a shared area taking in Coleraine, Ballymoney and Moyle, four candidates will run for seven seats.

They are current Deputy Mayor of Coleraine, Mark Fielding, Angela Knox, Frank Campbell and Bill Kennedy.