RHS judges coming to Coleraine

ROYAL Horticultural Society (RHS) Judges will be visiting Coleraine nexr week as part of the UK-wide judging tour for RHS Britain in Bloom, supported by Anglian Home Improvements, the largest horticultural campaign in Europe.

Coleraine is among the 76 finalist communities, chosen from over 1,000 cities, towns, villages and urban communities throughout the UK.

Coleraine’s green-fingered troops will be deadheading, pruning, watering and putting their final touches to local Bloom projects in order to wow judges Andrew Jackson and Jim Knight who will be visiting from 9am until 12pm on Friday, August 12.

As a finalist community in the Large Town category, alongside Colne, Glenrothes, Huntingdon, Whickham and Whitehaven, Coleraine hopes to score top marks and be announced category winner come late September.

Roger Burnett, RHS Britain in Bloom UK Judges Chairman, said: ‘It’s an absolute privilege and joy to be an RHS judge involved in this hugely worthwhile campaign.

“As well as enjoying the breathtakingly stunning displays and seeing the colossal efforts communities have made to make their towns, villages or cities nicer places to be, I also love meeting the people responsible.

“They are truly wonderful and the passion they have is both inspiring and infectious – I leave each community buzzing with excitement and also slightly disappointed not to have been able to stay longer.”

RHS Judge Andrew Jackson’s message to the people of Coleraine: ‘“ust relax and enjoy the experience! Judging Day is not about the judges. It is about your community and celebrating all that is best about it.”

Coleraine will be hoping to come out smelling of roses from the judges’ post-tour deliberation and an award ceremony for RHS Britain in Bloom 2011, supported by Anglian Home Improvements, will be held in St Andrew’s, Scotland on September 25.

Each finalist will be awarded an RHS Gold, Silver-Gilt, Silver or Bronze medal and there is also an award for best in category, as well as special discretionary awards given for achieving excellence in particular fields.