New season for Exorna WI

The President, Joan Coulter, welcomed the members of Exorna WI to the September meeting which was also the groups’s AGM.

The Chairman for the evening was Agnes Kennedy, Executive Member for Lower Bann, and the Tellers were Christine Adams and June Scott.

The following were elected to the committee: Joyce Bradley, Sylvia Boyd, Liz Mullan, Rosemary Sinclair, Jean Sherrard, Elsie Sawyers, Pat King and Marty Laird. Jean Sherrard was elected as the new President.

The Birthday Girls were Kathleen Graham, Jean Sherrard, Della Murphy and Hazel Ferris.

The competition “The Oldest WI Magazine” was won by Anne Campbell.

The Annual Competition Cup was won by Jean Sherrard.

A beautiful Silver Cup, in memory of the late Iris Houmann, a very much missed and valued member of Exorna, was presented by her family, husband Ole, daughter Kirsten Green and granddaughter Susan Green. They were welcomed and thanked by the Institute.

Barbara Logan and Anna White from the Causeway Macmillan Cancer Support were presented with a cheque for £250 to assist in the wonderful work of their organization.

Rosemary and Ian Sinclair were congratulated on their recent Wedding Anniversary and Rosemary was given flowers by the President and a card by Agnes Kennedy from the WI

After supper everyone was thanked and the new President closed the meeting ,with the members singing the Countrywoman’s Song.

New members will be made very welcome at our meetings in Hezlett Primary School at 8 o’clock on the third Monday of the month.