Our Andy wins ‘Volunteer of the Year’ award

editorial image

COLERAINE man Andy Alcorn has been named as the ‘Volunteer of the Year’ at the McDonald’s Irish FA Community Awards.

Andy, who is Chairman of Coleraine FC Academy and the Northwest and Coleraine Youth League has been instrumental in encouraging local kids to take part in the beautiful game.

Andy was honoured at a special awards ceremony last week.

Football legends Pat Jennings, Sir Geoff Hurst, Ian Rush and Eric Harrison were all in attendance to honour the local grassroots heroes.

The awards initiative has been coordinated by McDonald’s and the Irish FA to celebrate the local clubs, coaches and volunteers that make outstanding contributions to grassroots football and to local communities throughout Northern Ireland.

Pat Jennings attended and supported the event through his position as McDonald’s Head of Northern Ireland Football; “I’d like to congratulate Andy and I’m delighted that once again the Irish FA and McDonald’s have recognised and rewarded the local people who do so much for grassroots football throughout Northern Ireland.

“The dedication, commitment and passion shown by the nominees and winners was truly inspirational; they provide the opportunity for young people to play the game in a fun, safe and controlled environment and it is only fitting that at McDonald’s we recognise their outstanding efforts.”

Nine category winners were announced on the evening, with Jon Clifford posthumously receiving the main award for Outstanding Contribution to grassroots football.

Outstanding Contribution – Jon Clifford, Tristar FC (posthumous); Young Volunteer of the Year – Gareth Connor, Institute FC; Volunteer of the Year – Andy Alcorn, Coleraine FC; Coach of the Year – John Quinn, Ballinamallard FC; Accredited Club of the Year - Ballymoor FC; Female Coach of the Year – Helen Majury, Ballinahinch Youth FC; Disability Football Coach of the Year – George Moffett, Clanrye ETS; Community Relations Award – Christopher Moffett, NI Community of Refugees & Asylum Seekers; The People’s Award – Jackie Mooney, Camlough Rovers FC