Presentation evening for Girl Guides

editorial image

GIRLGUIDING County Londonderry held a presentation evening hosted by the mayor of Coleraine, councillor Sam Cole in the Bann Gallery at the Council offices.

The mayor and Independent councillor David McClarty presented the awards.

Parents and families of the girls attended the occasion.

Also present were Mrs Lorna Dane, GirlGuiding Londonderry County President and Mrs Hilary Smyth, GirlGuiding Ulster Duke of Edinburgh Advisor.

There were 19 Guides from all parts of the County who received their Baden-Powell Awards, the highest award in the Guide Section.

The recipients were: Erinn Melaugh, Brittany McArthur, Shannon McLaughlin - 1st Ballykelly Guide Company; Jane Telford, Andrea Clarke – 3rd Coleraine Guide Company; Rebecca Hunter, Faye Armstrong – 1st Woodschapel Guide Company; Bethany McCook, Grace Moore, Sophie Jinks, Niamh Carlin, Shannon McCaskie, Kirsty Millar, Ellen McKergan, Sasha Richardson, Amber McFarlane – 1st Portstewart Guide Company.

Senior Section Guides were presented with Chief Guide Awards and Duke of Edinburgh Awards.

Chief Guide Awards: Sophie Spence, Erin McGowan, Shannan Graham - 3rd Coleraine Ranger Guide Unit.

Duke of Edinburgh Bronze: Emma Johnston, Helen Marshal – 1st Aghadowey Ranger Guide Unit; Silver: Shannan Graham - 3rd Coleraine Ranger Guide Unit; Gold: Shannon McAllister, Sophie Wilsdon, Lisa McAfee, Rebecca Crowe, Sophie Nevin, Abigail Curry – 3rd Coleraine Ranger Guide Unit.

The Queen’s Guide Award is the ultimate award in guiding.

To achieve it girls have to embark upon a series of challenges which develop personal skills and give them opportunity to become more involved in Guiding and their community.

Three girls received this award, Abigail Curry, Andrea Moore and Sophie Nevin.