Busy schedule for Portstewart ladies branch

DESPITE the recent inclement weather the Portstewart Ladies Winter League was successfully completed with results as follows:

Friday, 19th March 2010, 1:37 pm
Updated Friday, 19th March 2010, 3:44 pm

The winning team was Salsa, which included Carolyn Christie, Diane Mc Kay, Deirdre Stewart, Maureen Austin, Mo Giffin, Christine Hutchinson, Jean Robinson, Doreen Fleming.

Best Weekly Individual scores: Week 1 - Heather Moore (28) over Celine Harley; Week 2 - Philomena Kelly (26); Week 3 - Deirdre Stewart (29) over Elaine Allen; Week 4 - Irene Currie (27); Week 5 - Moyra Gowland (27) over Diane McKay; Week 6 - Liz Bonello (25) Overall individual prize: Diane Mc Kay and Irene Currie.

Presentations were made at the Winter League Dinner earlier this month.

Jive, Salsa, Waltz and Paso Doble put on very professional displays of their named dance under the expert guidance of our very own ‘Strictly Come Dancing compere, Lady Captain Christine Hutchinson.

The night concluded with a most enjoyable ceilidh. Proceeds from the draw went to The Lifeboat.

Other prizewinners: Monthly Medal Winners Ilgu Spoons/Medals: December - Anne Agnew; Silver Medal - Grace McDowell; January - Maggie Penny; Bronze Medal - Inge Rowan; February - Pat Lowe; Silver Spoon - Anne Paul

Birdie Ladder, 1, Ina Bratton (22.7); 2, Mary Glover (21.6); 3, Brenda Strain (20.1).

Par Ladder, 1, Inge Rowan (233.4); 2, Anne Paul (138.1); 3, Maureen Clements(129.0)

Winter Ringer Strand Ina Smyth Trophy, 1. Anne Agnew (31/3)

Section A 0-24, 1, Mary Glover (65); 2, Mo Giffin (66 and 1/3); Section B 25-36, 1, Kathleen McIlfatrick (79); 2, Elaine Cameron over Paula O’Kane (both 80); Best overall reduction - Rosie Millar (36); Winter Ringer - Riverside, 1, Laureen Greenlees (29 and 2/3); 2, Marti Coid (30).

Team Stableford, 1, Christine Hutchinson, Anne Agnew, Shelia Aicken; 2, Jane Duke, Mo Giffin, Heather Rainey.

Team Scramble, 1, Christine Hutchinson, Anne Agnew, Shelia Aicken; 2, Mary Glover, Grace McDowell, Elaine Cameron.

The ladies look forward to an enjoyable and successful season for all their teams and individuals in various competitions.