CAI First XV produce dominant display

editorial image

An injury struck CAI 1st XV started the half term break with a difficult away trip to Banbridge Academy.

Inst only managed to win 7-0 despite being at least 30 points better than their opponents.

The match started well with a dazzling try from full back Matthew Smyth.

Matthew fielded a loose kick skipped past several defenders and fed his fly half Callum Smith.

The fly half powered through several would be defenders and linked inside to namesake Matthew, the full back then outpaced the remaining Banbridge defenders to score under the posts. Callum Smith added the conversion!

Throughout the rest of the half CAI continued to dominate territory and possession but failed to turn dominance into points.

The early retirement of Oliver McDowell with a torn pectoral muscle added to CAI’s ever growing injury list.

The second half followed much the same pattern as the first half.

CAI pressing and Banbridge defending stubbornly. Despite one of the CAI front row being sin binned on 55 mins the visitors never looked like conceding a try.

This combined with a lack of accuracy ultimately prevented CAI from adding to their total.

The number of penalties conceded by the away side was cause for concern, in fact a total of 6 penalties were awarded to Banbridge on their own line.

Despite this there were some excellent performances from captain Peter Bonnar, Callum Smith, second row Jack Mccarroll and full back Matthew Smyth.

Meanwhile on Friday after noon CAI hosted two touring sides from Trent College this afternoon.

In the U16 match CAI were victorious 41-5, scoring seven tries and three conversions.

There were some excellent individual performances from Andy McKee, Matthew Mooney, Zac Hutchinson, Thomas Lavery and Daniel McCreadie in particular.

The U15s won 55-5 with some excellent performances from Varun Chopra, Jamie Kirkpatrick, Andrew White and man of the match Daniel McConaghie.

Coleraine Academical

Institution First XV:

1 Daniel McAllister; 2 David Greatorex; 3 Mac Oneill; 4 James Bleakly; 5 Alastair Corbett; 6 Oliver McDowell; 7 Peter Bonnar Capt; 8 Peter Wisener; 9 Bruce Campbell; 10 Callum Smith; 11 Zac Hutchinson; 12 Andrew Wisener; 13 Daniel McCreadie; 14 Adam Alexander; 15 Matthew Smyth.