Causeway Coast and Glens sports stars honoured

Pictured are all 13 Winners of the Sports Award presentations.
Pictured are all 13 Winners of the Sports Award presentations.

Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council held their first collective Sports Awards event, in the Lodge Hotel Coleraine on Saturday night.

The awards recognised the winners from each of the Sports Council’s including Ballymoney, Coleraine, Limavady and Moyle, to award a winner in each of the thirteen categories.

Thes winners were: Junior Sportswoman, Hollie Buchanan, Sponsored by Chronicle Alpha Group,

Junior Sportsman, Varun Chopra, Sponsored by McDonalds Coleraine

Junior Team, Cross & Passion College Senior Hurling Team, sponsored by Nigel Scott Engineering;

Sports Person of the Year with a Disability Sean Campbell, sponsored by Kennedys Orthodontics,

Sports Administrator, Maurice McAlister, sponsored by Roadside Garages,

Services to Sport, Peter Jack, sponsored by Diamond Recruitment,

Coach of the Year, Geoff Bones, sponsored by McDonalds Coleraine,

Merit Award, Cushendall Ruari Og Senior Hurlers, sponsored by Nigel Scott Engineering,

Senior Team, Causeway Archery Club, sponsored by Kennedys Orthodontics,

Sportswoman of the Year, Sonia Knox, sponsored by Roadside Garages,

Sportsman of the Year, Ryan O’Neill, sponsored by Diamond Recruitment, A

International Sports Person of the Year Joe Cassells. sponsored by Chronicle Alpha Group,

Chairmen’s Awards, Dr Tom Stark, sponsored by Four Sports Council’s Ballymoney, Coleraine, Limavady and Moyle.

It was a moving moment for both Sonia Knox and Ryan O’Neill as they were awards sportsman and sportswoman of the year.

The Mayor of Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council, Councillor Michelle Knight McQuillan opened the evening by welcoming guests, and thanking the sponsors which included, Alpha Group, McDonalds Coleraine, Nigel Scott’s Engineering, Kennedys Orthodontics, Diamond Recruitment and Roadside Garages, as well as Johnston Print, the Four Sports Council’s and all those in Council who had supported the event.

Compere for the evening was media and sports presenter Stephen Watson, who announced each of the thirteen categories and interviewed the winners as they stepped onto the podium to receive their award.

Chairmen Stephen Graham and Tom Skelton made presentations to the Mayor and to Stephen Watson in appreciation of their support for the event.