Draw for Euro 2016 - All you need to know

editorial image

What channel is it on, what time does it start and can you still get tournament tickets?...we answer your questions here

The draw for Euro 2016 will take place in Paris on Saturday, 12 December at 6pm CET (5pm GMT).

France, as hosts, will not be in the draw and have already been placed in Group A. The draw will decide which groups the 23 other teams that qualified for the tournament will end up.

What channel is it on?

The draw will be aired live on Sky Sports News and will also be available to watch on the Uefa website.

How does the draw work?

There will be six groups at the tournament but the teams will be drawn by Pot rather than by Group. Pot 1 has five teams (as France are already drawn) while Pots 2, 3, and 4 have six teams each.

The teams have been placed in their Pots based on coefficient points; the points total is reached with 20 per cent of weighting given to results in qualifying and the final tournament of Euro 2012, 40 per cent to qualifying and the final tournament of the 2014 World Cup and 40 per cent to results in Euro 2016 qualification.

England, Spain, Germany, Portugal and Belgium are the teams in Pot 1 and will be the first teams to be drawn. The draw then skips to Pot 4, then goes in reverse order to Pot 3 then Pot 2.

The Pots are as follows:

Pot 1: France (Hosts); Spain, England, Portugal, Belgium

Pot 2: Italy, Russia, Switzerland, Austria, Croatia, Ukraine

Pot 3: Czech Republic, Sweden, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Hungary

Pot 4: Turkey, Republic of Ireland, Iceland, Wales, Albanis

Northern Ireland

The top two teams in each group PLUS the four best third-placed sides will advance to the knockout stages.

All of Northern Ireland, Wales and the Republic of Ireland are in Pot 4 meaning that they can’t be drawn together and only one of the three teams has the prospect of facing England in the Group stage.

England will be desperately hoping to avoid Italy, who sit in Pot 2, having played the side in each of the last two international tournaments and effectively being knocked out at the hands of the Azzurri.

What about the knockout stages?

The knockout stages are already set thus (all times CET):

Round of 16

Match 1: Runner-up Group A v Runner-up C (15.00, 25 June, St-Etienne)

Match 2: Winner D v Third-place B/E/F (21.00, 25 June, Lens)

Match 3: Winner B v Third-place A/C/D (18.00, 25 June, Paris)

Match 4: Winner F v Runner-up E (21.00, 26 June, Toulouse)

Match 5: Winner C v Third-place A/B/F (18.00, 26 June, Lille)

Match 6: Winner E v Runner-up D (18.00, 27 June, St-Denis)

Match 7: Winner A v Third-place C/D/E (15.00, 26 June, Lyon)

Match 8: Runner-up B v Runner-up F (21.00, 27 June, Nice)


1: Winner Match 1 v Winner Match 2 (21.00, 30 June, Marseille)

2: Winner Match 3 v Winner Match 4 (21.00, 1 July, Lille)

3: Winner Match 5 v Winner Match 6 (21.00, 2 July, Bordeaux)

4: Winner Match 7 v Winner Match 8 (21.00, 3 July, St-Denis)


1: Winner QF1 v Winner QF2 (21.00, 6 July, Lyon)

2: Winner QF3 v Winner QF4 (21.00, 7 July, Marseille)


Winner SF1 v Winner SF2 (21.00, 10 July, St-Denis)

Are tickets still on sale?

There are some tickets on sale during December and January, but only if you are a member of an official supporters’ group - those tickets, for specific group games, will be on sale from 14 December.

The next time tickets are on sale to the general public will be next March and April, when purchased tickets that are no longer wanted will be resold on the Uefa website.

Visit the Euro 2016 ticketing website for more information and to apply


The tournament begins on 10 June with the Final of 10 July.