Joy for Loreto as they win League

Loreto Year 8 winners.
Loreto Year 8 winners.
Share this article

There was triumph for Loreto College on Friday 28th November as the Loreto Year 8 soccer team took the Coleraine & District League title following a tremendous victory over Dalriada School in the Final, at Coleraine Showgrounds.

Coming from 1-0 down, Loreto equalised, then went ahead to 2-1, retaining their lead to take the title, following heroics from Kosta Papachristopoulos in goals, in an end-to-end contest in what was a thrilling final.

Coached by Mr Stuart McMullan, the team members were: Kosta Papachristopoulos, Michael Og McKeown, Conn Kilmartin, Nicholas Moore, Oisin McCrudden, Emmett Morrison, Alex Mailey, Pearse McGonigle, Christopher McNally, Conor Mullan, Bradley Tweed, Neal Maloney, Joshua Stockman, Fiyin Owolabi and Conor McGillan. Mrs Maureen McCullough,

Head of PE at Loreto, congratulated the team as well as thanking Coleraine FC for allowing the Final to be played in the Showgrounds.

Mr Michael James, Principal of Loreto College, paid tribute to the team and Mr McMullan on what has been a tremendous campaign throughout their first term, and on a brilliant performance in the final as they brought the trophy back to the Castlerock Road based school.