Will Grigg hoping to impress as Northern Ireland boss Michael O'Neill surveys options ahead of Euro 2016

In-form striker Will Grigg has been included in Northern Ireland's squad for next week's friendly against Belarus at Windsor Park.

Wednesday, 18th May 2016, 6:09 pm
Updated Thursday, 19th May 2016, 10:25 am
Northern Ireland's Will Grigg (right) in action against Scotland in March last year

Grigg bagged 28 goals for Wigan Athletic last season as the Latics clinched the Sky Bet League One title.

The 24-year-old is joined in the Northern Ireland squad by Ross County forward Liam Boyce who is also hoping to be part of Michael O’Neill’s 23-man panel for the Euros.

O’Neill will name his squad on 28 May – the day after the game against Belarus.

Grigg has seven caps and last played for Northern Ireland in a friendly match against Qatar last year.

“We will use the Belarus game to look at our options, our systems and how we play,” said manager O’Neill.

“It’s also a chance to look at personnel and to give players opportunities.

“We are on a good run at the minute and we want to continue that run.

“It is important that we approach the match in the same way as we have approached all our other games since qualification.

“In those we are unbeaten. We have won two and drawn one. We have only conceded one goal and that was from a penalty.”

Northern Ireland squad: A Mannus (St. Johnstone), M McGovern (Hamilton Academical), R Carroll (Notts County); C Cathcart (Watford), J Evans (West Bromwich Albion), G McAuley (West Bromwich Albion), L McCullough (Doncaster Rovers), C McLaughlin (Fleetwood Town), L Hodson (MK Dons), A Hughes (Melbourne City), D Lafferty (Burnley), P McNair (Manchester United), M Smith (Peterborough United), S Davis (Southampton), O Norwood, (Reading), C Evans, (Blackburn Rovers), S Ferguson (Millwall), B Reeves (MK Dons), S Dallas (Leeds United), N McGinn (Aberdeen), W Grigg (Wigan Athletic), K Lafferty (Norwich City), C Washington (Queens Park Rangers), B McKay (Dundee Utd), L Boyce (Ross County), J Ward, (Nottingham Forest), C Baird (Derby County), J Magennis (Kilmarnock).