Awards night for Eoghan Rua

Eoghan Rua Coleraine held their annual presentation of awards last Saturday evening in the Royal Court Hotel, Portush.

Special guests for the evening were the Derry county chairman John Keenan, the chair of Ulster Camogie Kathleen Woods and Derry Camogie chair Maura McCloy. The highlight of the evening was the presentation of medals to the triple winning camogie side. A fantastic season that began with the Eoghan Rua camogs winning the Derry Premier league continued to deliver as they went on to regain the Derry senior championship before creating a little bit of history by winning the Ulster senior championship for the first time. The camogie panel received their haul of medals from Kathleen Woods and Maura McCloy.They now look forward to an All-Ireland senior semi-final next February when they will take on reigning champions Milford from County Cork.

Eoghan Rua’s senior hurlers also had silverware on show as they celebrated their Derry Intermediate championship title with county chairman JohnKeenan presenting the panel with thei medals. Meanwhile the Eoghan Rua club also handed out their individuals awards for the ‘players of the year’. The senior footballer award went to Declan Mullan, pressed into sevice in the middle of the field he had an outstanding season.

Hurler of the year was awadrded to Sean Leo McGoldrick, he was the driving force of the side’s successful championship campaign. The senior Camogie award went to Maureen Heneghan, the University of Galway student showed great commitment to the cause travelling from the west on numerous occasions to turn in a series of powerful midfield performances that helped her side to their outstanding triple success. The senior reserve footballer award went to Stephen Coyles while the reserve camog of the year was Claire Dillon.

The young up and coming players were also recognised with ‘players of the year’awards which went to Ruari Mooney (football), Fergus Kelly (hurling) and Claire Tracey (camogie). The club also recognised the outstanding efforts of members who made a special contribution during the past season and this year it was a joint award to Paul Grant and John Gaile, both of whom made huge contributions acoss a wide range of activities at the club.

Meanwhile Eoghan Rua held their Annual General meeting last Sunday afternoon where a large number of members considered detailed reports from the club secretary and treasurer which indicated that the club was in good health both on and off the field of play. Three long standing officers, Paul Grant, Vincent McMahon and John Gaile, stood down as the election of officers resulted in the return of Brendan McLernon as chairman. Gerry McAleese was returned as vice-chair with Kevin Mullan back as secretary.

The new treasurer is Denis Frizelle while Dermot Mullan was returned as assistant treasurer. Paddy McColgan was returned as the assistant secretary with a healthy eighteen members agreeing to take office in the 2014 committee.