Bann Wheelers 50th Anniversary Open Races A Great Success

A2 and A3 groups together.
A2 and A3 groups together.

Last Saturday Bann Wheelers Cycling Club held their first open road race in a number of years.

The event was held to mark the club’s 50th anniversary and was held in a day of mixed weather!

It was held on a difficult circuit incorporating a climb over the Cam and a very fast finish.

There was hard racing at the Bann Wheelers event with Christopher Birney of SportActive getting the result in the combined A2/A3 race. He was followed in by James Wilson of Apollo CT and Aaron Park of CCT.

Bobby Kane of Bann Wheelers, Gerard Scullion (Carn Wheelers) and Mark Johnston also of the home club were next over the line. Keith Phillips (North Down CC), Marc Heaney (NRPT), Kenny Wilson (East Antrim CC) and Ryan Jamison (Causeway CC) completed the top ten.

In the A4 race it was Mark Maguire of Castlereagh CC who had the legs to take the win from Bann Wheelers Michael Thompson in a close two-up sprint. Another Bann Wheelers rider, Malcolm Scott was third. Alistair Robinson (Team BikeExpress), Gavin Moore (North Down CC), Stephen Mullan (North West Cycling Club), Noel Brian MacDiarmada (Errigal Cycling Club), Jason McIntyre (Un-Attached Ulster), Adrian Kane (Bann Wheelers) and Vincent Mort (Ballycastle CC) made up the top ten.

In the Masters event it was Derek Ferguson of Kings Moss who notched up yet another win following on from his success in Carndonagh last week. Sean Wright of Ballymena took second ahead of Brian Bonnar of Bann Wheelers. His club-mate David Park took fourth ahead of Kevin McGlynn of Donegal Bay. Robert Fleming (Causeway CC) was sixth.

Joanne Regan of Termoneeny lifted the prize in the women’s category.

Feedback from the event was very positive and Bann Wheelers did a great hosting job, organising and marshalling all the races to ensure absolute safety to riders.

There was also a great spread of food back at the hall afterwards, thank you to all who were involved in the catering.

Many thanks to all concerned especially Bann Wheelers Race Secretary Laurence Bradley and his team, Jane Millar Bann Wheelers Chairperson and to the commissaires and photographers on the day.

Hopefully next year Bann Wheelers will build on this success and this event will be an annual event on the Cycling Ulster calendar.