Busy programme of event for Springwell Runners

Springwell junior athletes made the long journey to Killinkere Leisure Centre, Virginia, Co Cavan on Sunday for NI & Ulster Uneven Age Group Cross Country Championships.

First in action was Jack Culbertson in the Under 13 Boys 2000m. Jack ran a good race to finish 7th in 8:00 minutes.

Springwell had a strong team out in the Girls Under 15 3000m race. Abigail McBroom led the team home winning individual bronze in 11:52. Niamh Carr was next home in 6th place in 12:11 followed by Ellie McBroom 17th in 12:52, Elle Beveridge 26th in 13:30 and Amy Fountain 38th in 13:58. These times meant the girls picked up team silver.

Andrew Gordon was Springwell’s representative in the Under 15 Boys 3000m coming home 22nd in 11:31.

Rebekah Hunter was the first Springwell girl home in the Girls Under 17 4000m finishing 5th in 17:41. Molly Brennan finished 11th in 18:09 and Aine McKinney 12th in 18:15.

Oisin Brennan went in the Boys Under 17 4500m race finishing 32nd in 17:31.

Aife McSheffrey won individual silver in the Girls Under 19 4500m completing the course in 18:33.

Luke Dinsmore finished 8th in the Boys Under 19 6000m race in a time of 22:29.

This was a successful day for Springwell Juniors with the first 12 individual and top three teams in each age category qualifying for the Irish Championships on the 7 December.

The fourth race in the Athletics NI Cross Country League took place at Sixmilewater Park in Ballyclare on Saturday. City of Derry’s Aileen moved clear and came home to break the tape in 18:12.

 Cathy McCourt was rewarded for an excellent run when she secured second place in 18:15, while Jessica Craig continued her impressive start to the cross country season with another podium spot, taking third place in 18:33.  

Springwell times - Gemma Turley 18:48, Karen McLaughlin 20:18, Laura Hassan 20:25, Pamela McGlade 20:42, Deborah Gililland 21:08, Katherine Woods 21:39, Catherine Pinkerton-Moore 21:53, Rosalind Overend 22:58, Sarah Chestnutt 23:00, Alison McAllister 23:10, Lynn Montgomery 23:30, Rozzy Skuce 23:38, Donna Brolly 25:29, Amanda Simpson 25:30, Debbie Tutty 25:48, Ursula Harper 26:02.

Despite missing three of last weeks winning team the ladies finished second team and gained maximum bonus points to stay one point ahead of City of Derry in the ANI Cross Country League.

City of Derry’s Peter Lilburn ran well to lead the Vet Men 60+ home in 18:51.

Jim Platt was Springwell’s sole representative in this race finishing second M70 in 23:47.

The Men’s five mile race attracted 168 competitors, which included a plethora of the provinces most talented athletes; from the off, a four man group of Ryan McDermott (Annadale Striders), Joe McAlister (St Malachy’s), Andrew Wright (Willowfield) and Brendan Teer (East Down) took up a position at the front and this is where the battle for top spot would take place.  

McDermottt too the win and a final gutsy surge from Brendan Teer saw him take the runners up spot in 25:52, with Joe McAlister completing the top three in 25:59.

Springwell times - Rhodri Jones 29:28, Paul Thompson 30:14, Glenn Millar 30:54, Brian Edgar 31:09, Colin Loughery 31:40, Gerry O’Doherty 31:51, Nigel Armstrong 34:17, Richard Baker 35:14, Ricky Cochrane 35:44, Peter Jack 36:25, Johnny Goldie 36:55.

Newcastle AC won the McConnell Shield to stay top of the ANI Cross Country League. The depleted Springwell men’s team scored five bonus points.

Despite high tide was at 7.02am the cool overnight temperatures kept the sand from being too soft underfoot for the 69 runners at Saturday’s Portrush parkrun.

Before the run Mervyn Thompson was presented with his 100 T-shirt. Jack Blee was congratulated on becoming the latest junior to have completed ten parkruns and Sharon Kennedy on completing 50. James Morrison was named October Sweatshop of the month.

This week there were 8 first timers, 10 PB’s and 5 different athletics clubs were represented.

Richard Stinger led the runners home in 19:01 and Donna Hughes was first lady to finish in 24:25

Springwell times - Andy Dowey 20:20, Robert Simpson 20:26, Gary Kendall 21:08, Mervyn Thompson 22:41, Jean-Claude Bourgeois 23:02, Robert Workman 23:40, Bob McLaughlin 25:22, Melanie Millar 26:53, Davy Patterson 27:56, Alison Wilson 30:26, Kay Hack 35:56

Springwell’s Anthony Higginbottom ran 20:18 at the Derry City parkrun, Alistair Shaw 18:20 at Belfast Victoria parkrun and Brian Geddis a PB 19:33 at the ECOS parkrun.