Camogie triumph for Loreto senior team

There was triumph for the Senior Camogie team from Loreto College Coleraine in the final of the Danske Bank Ulster Colleges Fr Davies’ Cup competition on Saturday 8 December.

Bridging a ten-year gap, the Loreto side collected their second Ulster title with a final score line of Loreto Coleraine 3-7 St Pius X Magherafelt 1-4.

A goal from Clodagh Connolly following a defensive error put Loreto into a 1-2 to 0-1 lead and they had the experience in key areas of the pitch to control the game and edge their way to the title. Loreto’s Eilís McNamee, Megan Kerr and Claire Tracey were superb at the back, with the latter surging forward during the second half and contributing the pass that set up the score of the game from Kirstin Ingram. Both midfielders Roseanna McAleese and Cristin O’Kane worked hard while there was danger up front from Clodagh Connolly, with Nicole O’Neill accurate from frees.

St Pius X didn’t have the same number of players who constantly lifted their game. Many were there for short bursts with Sarah Cassidy and Caoimhe Glass the two that played consistently well.

After that eighth minute goal from Clodagh Connolly, Aimee Devlin hit back with a free, but Loreto contained the scoring threat and added points in the 18th and 28th minutes for a 1-4 to 0-2 interval lead.

A fine goal within 90 seconds following a surging run by Sinead Conlon should have heralded a revival from St Pius X, but they couldn’t add to it and Loreto added points before a free from Nicole fell short in the 40th minute and Connolly kicked her second goal in a goalmouth scramble.

From then until the finish, Loreto were not going to let it slip and Kirsten Ingram finished a superb move for the last score, their third goal, seven minutes from time.

Mr Michael James, Principal of Loreto College, paid tribute to the Loreto team and to their coaches, Mrs Schira McGoldrick and Bean Ui Mhainain, on a spirited campaign and dedicated training throughout the season.

The Loreto College team members were: Bronagh McKinney, Clare Rafferty, Eilís McNamee, Catherine McNicholl, Cliodhna McIlvenna, Megan Kerr, Clare Tracey, Roseanna McAleese, Cristin O’Kane capt, Kirstin Ingram 1-1, Jessica Hickinson, Nicole O’Neill 0-5 frees, Shannon McWilliams, Clodagh Connolly 2-1, Therese Corrigan.