CYCLING: Marcus new record holder

On Tuesday 21 August the Bann Wheelers held the annual 10 Mile TT Club Championship race.

The sign-on sheet had some of the top testers in Ulster down to start. The weather conditions weren’t perfect and traffic levels were not ideal.

The fastest man on the night, with a new course record, was Marcus Christie on 0:20:16. Curran Racing’s, and Bann Wheeler, John Madden was next on 0:21:04, followed by new Bann Wheelers 10 Mile TT Club Champion, Derek McMenemy, on 0:22:12. Sharman Crawford on 0:22:45 and Carl Russell on 0:23:02 finished 2nd and 3rd respectively in the Club Championship. Congratulations to Derek on his win tonight. Congratulations also to Marcus Christie on setting a new course record.

The fastest lady on the night was Sinead Rivers (RVCC) on 0:24:57, followed by Kay Hack on 0:25:16 and Laura Maxwell (RVCC) on 0:25:51. Thank-you to Robert Downes for keeping everyone safe at the roundabout turn and also to Ian Nevin for organising the start list and performing timekeeper duties.

The Bann Wheelers would also like to thank Curran Racing, Duffin Transport CC, Ballymoney CC and Roe Valley CC for their continued support at our races.