Cyclists take part in Stroan Road Road Race

editorial image
Share this article

Bann Wheelers hosted their annual road race on the renowned Stroan Road circuit on 21 May.

Twenty-nine riders competed on this demanding circuit which was handicapped into three groups for racing on the night. It served up some exciting action as the scratch group caught the middle group at the start of the second lap.

However, it took them until the end of the third lap to catch the first group in this four lap race.

Bann Wheelers cyclist Nigel Quigley was in full flight throughout the race ably assisted by club mate Bobby Kane, both dragging the remainder of the scratch group onto the other racers.

It was an impressive sight to see Nigel leading the Bann Wheelers train around the circuit assisted by Kane in full flight. Unfortunately the hard work put in by Nigel to the big man came at a cost as Ballymoney’s Stevie McAllister managed to jump both of the Bann Wheelers men to take first place leaving Bobby and Nigel in second and third respectively.

Other positions of note were Ryan Patton Duffin Transport (fourth), Jason McIntyre BWCC (fifth), Rhodri Jones BWCC (sixth), Martin Carroll Ballycastle CC (seventh), Russell Callaghan BWCC (eighth), Laurence Bradley BWCC (ninth) and Gary Maybin Ballycastle CC (tenth).

Organisers would like to thank all members of the other clubs who supported the race, it really was an excellent turnout with members from many surrounding clubs including Ballymoney CC, Ballycastle CC, Roe Valley CC, Duffin Transport RT, North Down CC, Glens CC, Carn Wheelers CC and Chain Reaction Cycles.

Organisers would alos like to pass on their thanks to all the marshals for keeping everyone safe and on the right track and of course Ian Nevin on perfect handicapping and timekeeping.