Eakin the Victor at Castlerock

editorial image

Victor Eakin, Playing off nineteen, won Jackie Graham’s President’s Prize at Castlerock last Saturday.

His 41 points had to make it through the countback system down to the final three holes but it came good for Victor. With just the one single pointer on the front nine, plus a few good pars Victor had 20 points logged at the turn for home. The inward nine didn’t have the blemish of a one pointer, just twos and threes for 21 more.

The finish of seven points from the last three holes was needed to fend off the challenge of six handicap Greg Thompson also on 41 but with just six from the same sequence. Greg’s 20 out contained just one bogey, a six at the third, and eight pars. The back nine started with a bogey five on the Fairy Dell but the par five Coastguards gave up a four to even things up. Seven pars to finish and 21 points had been gathered to get Greg to 41 and second spot.

In third place on 40 points came Ian Stewart, a sixteen handicapper. He took 19 from the front nine and went one better coming in with 20. David Turner’s round of 75 was good enough to take the Best Gross. His outward nine contained just the single birdie, A three at the seventh, but too many bogeys for David’s liking and ended it on 41, five over par. A good recovery was called for and it came as David finished the inward nine in 34 shots, three under par. Seven pars were wrapped round an eagle three on the long fifteenth and a two on the summit.

The Senior Section was topped by Jim Todd with 39 points. His modest 16 out spurred Jim on to greater things on the inward journey finishing with 23 for the nine and 39 overall. Robert Ramsey took the Council Prize with his 36 points from his sixteen handicap.

In the Ladies event it was Margaret Crooks in the top position on 37 points with Eithne Witort second with 36. Yvonne Mitchell scored 33 for third place. Connor McCracken (19) scored 37 on the Mussenden Course to win the Juveniles Section from Koren Ferguson on 35. Top juvenile on the Bann Course was Jake Smyth (33) with 23 points. Runner up was Matthew Boyd (34) with 23 points.