GAA: Dramatic final draw

Share this article

Derry and Galway must do it all over again following a thrilling 3-12 to 3-12 draw in their All-Ireland Intermediate camogie final in Croke Park last Sunday afternoon.

Both sides will have claims that they should have won it first time around but in the end a draw was probably the right result.

When Derry were two points adrift 3-11 to 2-12 two minutes into the four of added time it seemed it was all over. Meabh McGoldrick launched a long ball into the Galway penalty area where Karen Kielt did well to gather and under pressure bundle the ball to the net but the referee had blown the whistle and awarded a penalty.

Up stepped Katie McAnenly under the greatest of pressure to calmly blast the penalty to the net, Derry suddenly ahead by one and on the cusp of All-Ireland glory. Now it was a case of holding on but having cleared a Galway attack Derry conceded a free and this time it was substitute Rachel Monagahn who had the task of rescuing her side and she did so unerringly splitting the posts for the equaliser and a replay on Saturday 29th September.

A fortuitous goal from a hopeful puck forward by Eilis Ní Caisde helped Derry to a commanding 1-7 to a 0-3 lead by the 15th minute. Then in the last five minutes of the half a the sides traded three goals, Galway getting two to go into the break just two points adrift at 2-8 to 2-6.

The third quarter seen the sides trade point for point but going into the last quarter Galway’s dominance began to tell and points from Orla Curtin and the impressive Emma Kilkelly had them just ahead 3-9 to 2-11. Grainne McGoldrick levelled matters for Derry from a free two minutes from the end of normal time to set up a frenetic finish. Galway then edged two clear before that penalty goal in added time seemed to have given Derry the winner but super sub Rachel Monaghan converted a tricky free to send this thriller to a replay.

Derry team: Claire O’Kane; Maeve Quinn, Aoife Ní Chaisde, Aideen Mullan; Aileen McCusker, Eilis Ní Caisde, Meabh McGoldrick; Sinead Cassidy, Grainne McNicholl; Karen kielt, Teresa McElroy, Shauna Quinn; Katie McAnenly, Oonagh Bradley, Grainne McGoldrick.