Irish call up for Ballybrakes players

editorial image

Congratulations must go to the Ballybrakes Indoor Community Club ladies players who have been selected to represent Ireland at the Home International Series in Llanelli from 11th-13th March.

They are Alice Elliott, Dessa Baird, Penney Johnston, Anne McClelland, Pat Calvin, Anne McKillop, Noelle Graham and Anne Smith.

The combined British Isles championships then start on the 14th and the Ballybrakes club will be represented in the ladies fours by Anne Smith, Barbara Logue, Anne McKillop and Jennifer Dowds.

Not to be outdone by the ladies Trevor Colvin, Nigel Robinson and Gary McCloy will compete in the triples and Aiden Reid, Steven Falls, Derek Smith and Ian McClure in the rinks.

Members of the club recently attended a special reception in Riada House, Ballymoney when Causeway Coast and Glens Mayor Michelle Knight- McQuillan entertained the recently crowned Irish Indoor Triples and Fours champions from Ballybrakes Community Indoor Bowling Club who attended along with Club Officials.

The Mayor also wished them good luck for the forthcoming British Isles Championships later in the month in Llanelli, Wales.

The league schedule is nearing the end of the second phase. All those rinks finishing in first to fourth place in each phase will now progress to the playoffs, the first being the Thursday night league on Saturday 12th March.

The draws for each league playoff will be displayed on the notice board as each league is completed and the dates of play are already on the board. Any queries please contact the club secretary.

Monday afternoon

A Scott 3 H Elliott 18

J Graham 7 R McClure 13

E Andrews 4 E Armstrong 23

J O’Neill 15 M McCullagh 12

Tuesday night

C Stewart 7A McKillop 9

S Mitchell 7 R McClure 8

A Scott 9 A McClelland 15

Thursday afternoon

R Calvin 5 A Scott 21

J Graham 11 T Mairs 13

M McCullagh 11 E Armstrong 8

Thursday night

J Millar 6 I McClure 13

G McCloy 2 G Kelly 14

A Elliott 5 B Kane 19

A Kennedy 10 A Morrison 8

W McCaw 13 N Vauls 11

Friday night

S Mitchell 5 A Robinson 19

A Elliott 1 G McCloy 17

C Stewart 7 W McCaw 11

H Elliott 6 J Martin 11