It’s a record breaking week for Springwell AC runners

Springwell runners who took part in Dessie's Run.
Springwell runners who took part in Dessie's Run.

City of Derry AC hosted their annual Dessies 10K Road Race in Gransha Grounds, Derry on Tuesday evening, with several local runners taking part.

In good conditions, Foyle Valley Keith Shiels produced an outstanding performance to win an exciting race in a personal best time of 30:59. City of Derry’s Declan Reed followed in 31:05, before Scott Rankin (Foyle Valley) claimed a well-deserved podium place in 31:10.

The ladies race brought an excellent battle between Springwell Running Club duo Gillian Wasson and Gemma Turley. Both ladies have enjoyed an excellent season so far, with Gillian impressing in the mountains and Gemma on the roads. Gillian and Gemma were joined at the front of the ladies field by Marina Campbell (City of Derry). In the end, it was International mountain runner Gillian who took top honours, breaking the tape in a new club record time of 37:50. Marina secured a brilliant second place finish in 38:36, while Gemma recorded 38:45 for third place.

The Derry course proved a happy hunting ground for Springwell Runners with Neil Johnston also breaking his male club record finishing eighth in 33:15 and winning the male junior prize. Springwell Results: Stephen Joyce 34:28 (1st M35 PB), Paul Thompson 34:47 (PB), Bryan Edgar 36:35 (1st M50), David Jackson 37:00, Andrew Dowey 38:02, Jim Breen 38:53 (1st M55), Ross Armstrong 39:44 (PB), Hugh Boyle 39:57, Patrick Higgins 40:37 (PB), Gerry O’Doherty 40:40, Karen McLaughlin 42:09 (1st F40 PB), Nigel Armstrong 42:52 (PB), Margaret Edgar 54:03 (PB). In total Springwell came home with seven prizes and a bag full of PB’s.

On Sunday six Springwell athletes travelled to Belfast for the Pure Running Laganside 10K organised by North Belfast Harriers. In breezy conditions, athletes set on the two loop course, which would take them towards the City Centre and onto the Lagan Towpath, before returning to the Ormeau Embankment, where they would then cover a second, shorter lap prior to finishing back at the Ozone Centre.

Stephen Scullion (Clonliffe Harriers) led the runners home in 30:45 and Teresa McGloin (Finn Valley AC) was the first lady in 35:05. Ciara Toner was the first Springwell Runner home in a PB time of 38:58 followed by Orla McGinnis 43:59 (PB), Mervyn Thompson 46:48, Catherine Bell-Allen 47:12 (PB), Alison McAllister 49:04 (PB) and Kenny Bacon 60:05. Jim Breen was Springwell’s only representative among the eighty runners who took part in the third running of the Ballinderry 10K on Saturday.

The City of Derry duo of Christopher McPeake 34:10 and Anne Paul 39:35 took the major honours on this tough course which traversed County Derry/Londonderry and County Tyrone, via the village’s two footbridges. Jim Breen took the M50 prize in 39:59.

Low tide at 10.15 meant there was loads of firm sand for the 83 parkrunners on Saturday. The runners had the advantage of a tail wind on the outward journey but had to battle against it on the way home. Springwell’s Chris Denton 18:55 and Karen McLaughlin 20:58 (PB) were the first male and female home.

Springwell Times: Nigel Armstrong 21:05, Mervyn Thompson 22:33, Robert Workman 22:35, Holly Woodhead 23:20 (PB), Rebekah Hunter 23:39 (PB), Jean Claude Bourgeois 24:07, Kay Hack 25:28, Stephen Smyth 26:56 (PB), Jack Kendall 28:33, Victoria, Abi and Hannah Smyth 40:37. Springwell’s Patrick Higgins was the first runner hone at the ECOS Parkrun on Saturday in a PB time of 19:44. Margaret Edgar 26:38 and Kenny Bacon 28:53 both had PB’s for the course.