Ladies enjoy final Open competition

Recent prize winners at Portstewart Golf Club Ladies Section competitions.
Recent prize winners at Portstewart Golf Club Ladies Section competitions.

The final open of the golfing year was held at Portstewart Golf Club last week.

This charity competition has been generously sponsored for the past three years by the Montgomery family with this year’s proceeds going to the Rehab Ward in Causeway Hospital.

Sixty-four members and forty-five visitors played in the team Stableford event on the day, which was won by the team comprised of Julie Corbett, Denise Ross and Caroline McMullan.

The runners up were Lynne Gibb, Ina Bratton, and Moraig McCrum.

The team of Susan Kelly, Susan Anderson and Caroline Christie finished in third place

Lady captain Mo Giffin presented the trophies and prizes for outstanding competitions played for in recent months after the days play.

The O`Kane Cup and the July Monthly Medal was won by Alison Bann with Lesley Hemphill winning the best gross and Gillian McMullan finishing as runner up.

Anne Paul won Eileen`s trophy with Amy Glover picking up best gross and Mary Travers claiming the runner up place.

Julie Corbett was the overall winner of the May Edith Marshall Trophy and August monthly medal with Margaret Allison best gross and Lady Captain Mo grabbing the runners up prize.

The Windyridge Cup, which is played on the town course, was won by Susan Morgan playing off twelve, with a superb score of 44 points.

Best gross went to Brenda Strain and runners up prize was claimed by Adele Whitten.

Finally in the Nora Sloan`s seniors day played on both the Strand and Riverside courses, Helen McLaughlin won the Strand competition with Pat Cole runner up while Liz Ward took first place honours on the Riverside.

Congratulation to the Minor Cup Team who narrowly lost out in the final to Dunmurry played at Royal Belfast.

The Lady Captain’s away day was held at Roe Park Golf Club with 51 members enjoying a day of golf, food and fun. Clare Harley emerged the overall winner on the day with thirty seven points.