Loreto retain Casement Shield

editorial image

The Senior Hurling Team from Loreto College Coleraine lifted the Danske Bank Ulster Colleges GAA Casement Shield for the second consecutive year on Friday 9 November.

Playing against a determined side from Edmund Rice College Belfast, the Loreto College team was captained by Ruairi Mooney and coached by teacher Mr Callum Boyle.

The Loreto College team retained the Casement Shield due to a fine performance by the whole team, but also thanks to a seven points haul from Kevin Mullan. The Kevin Lynch’s clubman was a constant thorn in Glengormley’s side and he was ably assisted by Liam McGoldrick, while Sean Frizzelle and John McLister did well at the back.

Both goals came in the first 10 minutes and were the opening scores for each team. Edmund Rice struck first after 5 minutes, David Morgan taking his chance brilliantly.

But Thomas Magee doubled a high ball to the back of the net to tie the teams and Loreto then played the better hurling, going into the break, 1-4 to 1-2 ahead thanks to 3 points from Mullan and 1 from McGoldrick.

The Hightown side played well at the start of the second half, but failed to convert a few frees and once Mullan got going again, Loreto stretched away. Glengormley kept battling and were rewarded with 2 late points from Niall McGivern, but by that time Loreto were too far ahead and already had a hand on the Shield. The final score was Loreto College, Coleraine 1-10 Edmund Rice College, Belfast 1-4.

Mr Michael James, Principal of Loreto College, congratulated the team on their tremendous performance in the final, following a spirited campaign throughout the Autumn Term. Mr James also paid tribute to team coach Mr Callum Boyle, and to Mrs Schira McGoldrick, co-ordinator of Gaelic Games at Loreto College, on behalf of all the staff and students of the College.

The Loreto College team members were: Conor Owens, Connor Boyle, Sean Frizelle, Mairtin Henry, Paul Roantree, John McLister, Aaron Christie, Ruairi Mooney, Oisin Quinn, Brendan McKillop, Liam McGoldrick 0-3, 0-2 from 65s, Eoin McKillop, John Mullan 0-7, 0-4 frees, Dean O’Kane, Thomas Magee 1-0. Subs: Fergus Kelly for B McKillop, Aidan Carlin for D O’Kane, Shea Eastwood for M Henry, B McKillop for T Magee.