McKinney takes 10-mile TT honours last week

It was another great night’s racing on the Bushmills-Dervock 10 Mile TT course with slightly more clement weather conditions than the previous week.

Fastest man on the night was Bryan McKinney (Duffin Transport) on 22:57, followed by Sharman Crawford on 23:15, just quicker than Damian Hazlett on 23:25. Fastest lady was Kay Hack on 27:42 followed by time trial virgin Paula Rainey on 31:39. It was a great ride also by Under 14 Ailbhe Kendall on 32:21.

Thanks to the marshalls, Tony Callaghan and Brian Doherty, for keeping everyone safe and thanks, once again, to our timekeeper Ian Nevin.

Full list of times:

Brian McKinney (DT) 22.57; Sharman Crawford 23.15; Damien Hazlett 23.25; Derek McMenemy 24.58; Ali Brattan (RVCC) 25.37; Stephen Logan 26.11; Nigel Kerr 26.30; Gary Kendall 26.42; Shane McDonald 28.28; Ivan Goldsworthy 28.31; James Thompson 28.37.

Under 14s: Ailbhe Kendall 32.21

Ladies: Kay Hack 27.42; Paula Rainey 31.39

Meanwhile, a hardy bunch of cyclists turned up at the Collins Circuit on a blustery and wintry Tuesday night for the first time trial of the Bann Wheelers’ season. Amidst a sea of goosebumps, chattering teeth and lycra, the cyclists and marshalls debated whether to carry on or cancel, but as the snow and wind abated slightly, the decision was made to go ahead.

Sharman Crawford showed that his previous season’s form hasn’t left him, by being fastest around the course with a time of 12.00 minutes exactly. He was followed by Jason Taggart, from Ballymoney Cycling Club, who completed the circuit in 12.12 and Damien Hazlett, who came in with a time of 12.17.

The full list of results are as follows: Sharman Crawford 12.00, Jason Taggart (BCC) 12.12, Damien Hazlett 12.17, Nigel Quigley 12.21, Bobby Kane 13.07, Stephen Logan 13.10, Derek McMenemy 13.11, Owen Anderson (RVCC) 13.34, Adam Dorran 13.47, James Thompson 13.52, Nigel Kerr 14.08, Shane McDonald 14.27, Tony Callaghan 14.29 and Ivan Goldsworthy 15.14. Fastest female cyclist was Kay Hack with a time of 15.41.

All the riders who took part are to be commended on getting great times in such arctic weather conditions!

Well done to Dominic Drumm, who completed Ballymoney Cycling Club’s 5 mile ‘Lungbuster’ time trial on the Ballybogey Road, on Wednesday 4 April, with the fastest time of 11.11. This was a great achievement in a field of twenty-five cyclists. Damien Hazlett also showed that his winter training has been paying off with a time of 11.44.