MOTORCYCLING: Michael Dunlop secures second victory at South 100 races

Michael Dunlop (1000 BMW/Hawk Racing) at Ballakeighan during the Southern 100 Ellan Vannin Fuels Senior Race.
Michael Dunlop (1000 BMW/Hawk Racing) at Ballakeighan during the Southern 100 Ellan Vannin Fuels Senior Race.
Share this article

Michael Dunlop made it two wins from two starts at the Steam Packet Southern 100 as the Ulster rider decimated the opposition to win the Ellan Vannin Fuels Senior race by 25 seconds yesterday.

The Hawk Racing BMW star opted to run slick tyres as the race was started in damp conditions following a sharp shower.

It proved an inspired decision as he disappeared into the distance, with the roads around the 4.25-mile Billown course rapidly drying out.

Dunlop was never troubled as the 13-time Isle of Man TT winner completed the seven-lap distance in 16m 45.792s to win by 25.39 seconds from Manx rider Dan Kneen, who is making his return from injury for Northern Ireland’s Mar-Train Yamaha team.

Kneen narrowly held on the for the runner-up spot as he finished two seconds clear of Ivan Lintin on the Devitt RC Express Kawasaki in third.

Dunlop, who set the fastest lap of the race at 108.660mph, said: “I could’ve done with using an intermediate front but the tyres worked well and we managed to get some heat into them.

“We made it work and I got the head down on the first lap and pushed on. The bike was working well and we made another step with it, so thanks to the boys. I can’t complain so we’ll just try and keep it up.”

Ballymoney’s Seamus Elliott (Kawasaki) finished in fourth place ahead of Anthony Redmond (BMW) and Rob Hodson (Kawasaki).

Dunlop, who won the Corlett’s Trophies 600/1000cc race on Tuesday by 12 seconds, is gunning for his third victory in the prestigious Solo Championship race today.

The 27-year-old won the trophy two years running in 2011 and 2012 but was denied the chance to equal his uncle Joey’s record of three wins in a row in 2013, when Guy Martin took the honours.

Lincolnshire rider Martin then went on to win the feature race in 2014 and 2015, joining road racing legend Dunlop as the only riders ever to have won the Solo Championship race three years in succession.