Narrow defeat for Loreto camogs in All-Ireland semi

editorial image

The Senior Camogie team from Loreto College represented Ulster in the All Ireland B Schools’ Final in Co. Wicklow on Saturday.

the team had triumphed in the final of the Danske Bank Ulster Colleges Fr Davies’ Cup competition to reach the semi final stage.

Bridging a ten-year gap, the Loreto side had collected their second Ulster title with a final scoreline of Loreto Coleraine 3-7 St Pius X Magherafelt 1-4.

Saturday’s tie saw them taking on St Mary’s New Ross in Wiclow in what proved to be a tightly contested affair.

On the day, the Co. Wexford side just edged a six-point victory, with the final scoreline St Mary’s New Ross 1-2 to Loreto College’s 1-2.

The Loreto team put up a spirited display, fighting for points until the final whistle.

Mr Michael James, Principal of Loreto College, paid tribute to the Loreto team and to their coaches, Mrs Schira McGoldrick and Bean Ui Mhainain, on behalf of all the staff and students of the College.

He said: “The Loreto team have fought a magnificent campaign throughout the season, with a fantastic dedication to their training and a wonderful team spirit.

“The team are an inspiration to our younger students, who will seek to emulate their achievements when their turn comes,” said the Principal.

Loreto College was represented in this event by: Cristin O’Kane (team captain), Clodagh Connolly, Therese Corrigan, Megan Kerr, Jessica Hickinson, Kirstin Ingram, Rosanna McAleese, Cliodhna McIlvenny, Bronagh McKinney, Eilis McNamee, Catherine McNicholl, Shannon McWilliams, Nicole O’Neill and Claire Rafferty.