No real shocks at the Morrison Trophy gets underway

editorial image

League matches took a rest this week to allow games to proceed in the first round of the Morrison Trophy.

There were no real shocks although it took a tie end to decide the game between Castlerock and New Row. New Row had forfeited home advantage but they scraped home, winning by just one shot. Ronnie Steele put Castlerock into the lead, beating Sammy McArthur (New Row) 9-8.

Joe Elkin then eased New Row in front with a six shot advantage over Victor Callaghan (C’rock). In the next game Jackie Hutchinson (C’rock) and Jonathan Elder (New Row) could not be separated on eight apiece. Brian Wilson (C’rock) then lead Mark Callaghan (New Row) 15-10 after ten ends leaving the match all-square but in the tie end Mark held his nerve to get the all-important shot to see his team go through to the second round.

Garvagh and District entertained Division 1 club, Dunloy Prebyterian. There was no giant killing act however and Dunloy went comfortably through.

Ken McLenaghan put the home team in front beating Joe Campbell (D’loy) 9-7. The lead was short lived as Thomas Paul (D’loy) won by 13 shots in his game with Elizabeth McCafferty (Garvagh). Geoffery Boyce (Garvagh) reduced the deficit winning 9-4 against Stephen Dunlop (D’loy) but Mark Shaw saw Dunloy safely through with a 12 shot win against Peter Reynolds (Garvagh).

Loughanreagh proved too strong for Ballinrees, winning by 18 shots. It started so well for the visitors with Jonathan Calvin beating the in-form Ian Ross (L’reagh) 12-7.

Alan Irwin then forced Loughanreagh ahead beating William Calvin (B’rees) by 13 shots. With Edwin Irwin and Alastair Steele, both Loughanreagh, winning their games in the second half against Victor Millen and Uel Gordon (B’rees) respectively the result was really never in doubt.

The Marian played St. Mary’s expecting a tight encounter but St. Mary’s never got to grips with their opponents and so they crashed out. Brian McAlary put the Marian in front with a three shot win over Harold Kelly (St. Mary’s).

James Martin (Marian) then beat David Gaile (St. Mary’s) 16-6. Jordan Mullan (St. Mary’s) managed to put the brakes on the Marians’ progress when he held William McCaw to a draw. Terrence McGarry (Marian) put the game out of reach when he defeated Declan McCann (St. Mary’s) 14-3.

Again the Finvoy Presbyterian versus Moneydig game was expected to be close but with home advantage Finvoy won all four games to sail into the second round.

Donna McCloy got the ball rolling for Finvoy with a two shot win against Trevor Workman (M’dig). Adam Hunter (Finvoy) then proved too strong for Brian McFetridge (M’dig), winning 12-6. Joe Moore (Finvoy) had a big win over Alan McAleese (M’dig) and Chris Jones made it a full house for Finvoy beating Willie Knight (M’dig) 12-8.

First Coleraine were at home to a depleted Drumreagh team and so First Coleraine go through to the second round. John Weeks put the home team on the score board with a 10-7 win against Raymond Clyde (D’reagh). Clifford McLernon (1st. C’raine) kept the momentum going, winning by four shots in his game with Carson Boyd (D’reagh). Stand-in skip Charmaine Hughes (D’reagh) showed great determination and skill before going down to John Camac (1st. C’raine) by 13-9. In the final game Jim Campbell (1st. C’raine) maintained his good run of form when he beat Edwin Jackson (D’reagh) 10-5.

Both Boveedy and Second Kilrea could not field teams, so their respective opponents, St. Colman’s and Dunluce go through to the second round.

The draw for the second round is: St. Colman’s v Dunloy Pres.; 1st. Coleraine v Finvoy Pres.; Marian v Loughanreagh; New Row v Dunluce. These games will be played on week commencing 13th. January 2014.

E & B TAYLOR CHARITY CUP - 3RD. ROUND DRAW: Ballinteer v Dunloy Pres.; Finvoy Pres./2nd. Kilrea Pres. v 1st. Dunboe Pres.; Loughanreagh v Benvarden/Ballinrees.; Moneydig v St. Olcan’s Rasharkin; Marian/Drumreagh v Carey; Bushvale v Armoy Pres/Loughguile; 1st. Coleraine v St. Colman’s; Ballintoy Par./Dunluce Pres. v St. Olcan’s Armoy. Most of the outstanding games will be played during w/c 16th. December 2013.

IIBA Championships – NORTHERN ZONE - Correction to results published last week. Ladies singles- E. McKee (Kelly Mem.) v C.Murray (St. Colum’s); Ladies pairs- G.Law/ T. O’ Neill (St. Colums) v P. Williamson/T. Everrett (Burnside).