Route Hunt Branch of the Pony Club celebrate successful year

The Route Hunt Branch of the Pony Club held their annual awards night on Saturday 19 January at Ballymoney Rugby Football Club.

DC Eavan White welcomed everyone to the event celebrating a year of success that saw branch members travel to England and Scotland having qualified to compete at national level in show jumping, dressage, eventing, and pony club games. Special mention was made of Rosie Alcorn and Eimear McMahon who travelled to England in January to successfully complete their AH Test, the highest horse care award available through the Pony Club.

The dedication and success of the games team, especially the organisation of Ann Marie Carr was highly praised with trainer Simpson McKay picking up the Roulston Award for his services to the branch. Guest speakers at the event were Vicki and Lisa Wharry, past branch members, who having been spotted in the past by the Mossvale Arena Party travelled to assist at the London Olympics.

Their presentation had everyone gripped as they gave an amazing insight into what went on behind the scenes with everything from arena preparation and walking the cross country course to the various celebrities they met while assisting at this spectacular event. Parents, as well as members, who are no strangers to course building and clearing up listened as Vicki and Lisa’s inspirational talk described how they have taken this to a completely different level.

Prizes were then distributed by Vicki, Lisa and branch treasurer Esther Harper prior to a superb supper which added to an extremely enjoyable evening.

Area Trials

Bannfield Perpetual Cup, Rosie Alcorn

Torrens Family Cup, Kim Campbell

McCulloch Challenge Cup, Lucy Lamont


The Darcy Boy Cup, Rosie Alcorn

Intermediate Dressage Trophy, Jessica Graham

Novice Dressage Silver Chalice, Lucy Lamont

Junior Dressage Oval Plate, Katie Curry

Show jumping

Ella Mana Mou Cup, Eimear McMahon

Rosemary White Cup, Laura Abernethy

RHPC Horse Statue, Sam Woodrow


Jackson Taggart Cup, Joe Evans

Portstewart Gymkhana Cup, Lucy Lamont

Minimus Tetrathlon Cup, Niamh Carr

Route Hunt Pony Club Cup, Rocco Quinn

Home Championships

The Torrens Family Shield, Jennifer Pollock

RHPC Silver Plate, Olivia Quinn

Maddybenny Trophy Horse Statue, Katie Curry


RHPC Games Shield, Kathie Woodrow

With the following trophies going to - Sam Moore Trophy, Rosie Alcorn; Inis Eoghan, Beckah Sim; Pertunia, Danielle Lynch; Cream Cracker, Orlagh Smith; Presidents, Toni McClenaghan; Roulston Award, Simpson McKay.