Smashers shine in All Star Under-15 league

The Samshers team which won Division 1.
The Samshers team which won Division 1.

Smashers Junior Badminton Club had a very successful season competing in All Stars Juvenile league which was held in National Badminton Centre, Lisburn.

A team was entered in each of divisions 1 and 2 with each team playing 7 matches against opposition from Lisburn, Banbridge, Loughbrickland and Carryduff.

The division 2 team members of Adam Abernethy, Jordan Atkinson, Ciaran Parahoo, James Hancock, Daire Breen, Freya Stevenson, Orla Tracey and Aimee Semple emerged as overall team champions. Team members also won individual gold in the girls’ doubles and silver in boys’ doubles, boys’ and girls’ singles and mixed.

The division 1 team finished fourth overall with the boys’ doubles and mixed winning individual silver medals. Team members were Edwin Guan, Dylan Stewart, Ryhan Webba da Silva, Eve Webster and Ellen Davis. Dylan Stewart did particularly well, playing in 6 matches and winning all of his games.

On the final day as well as collecting a horde of medals the players were treated to an exhibition match. Michael Watt (10 times Irish singles champion ) and Eugene McKenna (four times Irish doubles champion) against two of Ulster’s brightest Under 17 players, Ryan Getty and Norman Lau.

They also saw Para badminton world singles player, Niall McVeigh take on Luke Irvine who is the German para badminton doubles champion.

Thanks are due to Alpha badminton club and in particular to Suzy Armstrong and Bobby Cheung who organised the league programme.