Springwell athletes take on Dublin Marathon

A purple wave hit Dublin on Monday as 30 members of Springwell Running Club joined the 15,000 runners from all over the world took to the streets of Dublin for the 33rd running of the Dublin City Marathon.

Despite the cold and at times breezy conditions, many ran personal bests. First Irish runner home was marathon debutant Paul Pollock of Annadale Striders. Paul finished in an outstanding 9th place in 2:16:30 securing the Athletics Ireland Marathon Championship. Springwell had three runners run sub three hours. Dublin based Seamus MacFloinn was the first Springwell runner home in 2:54:46(PB) closely followed by Dervock man Paul Thompson in a PB time of 2:55:29. Hugh Boyle, in his first outing over the marathon distance crossed the line in 2:59:04 finishing second in the over sixty age category.

Orla McGinnis 3:27:00, Graeme Morrison 3:46:17, Lynda-Jayne Parkhill 4:33:50, Debbie Tutty 4:41:44, Caroline Taylor 4:53:41 and Zara Hunter 5:14:08 joined Hugh running their first marathon. All will be pleased with their times as they completed their first 26.2 miles.

Springwell Runners recorded some excellent times and a number of PB times were recorded. Dave Sexton 3:09:22, Chris Capper 3:10:55(PB), Ross Armstrong 3:14:52, William O’Kane 3:22:04, Fran McFadden 3:26:16, Johnny Goldie 3:26:58, Leslie Ashe 3:28:05(PB), Caroline Irwin 3:29:50(PB), Karen McLaughlin 3:33:13(PB), Linda Gillen 3:38:43(PB), Katherine Woods 3:44:00(PB), Gary Moore 3:44:47(PB), Sarah Chestnutt 3:46:51, Tommy Bradley 3:49:02, Alan McKeeman 3:49:46, Andrew Dowey 3:49:59, Alison McAllister 4:00:55(PB), Catherine Pinkerton Moore 4:01:32(PB), Rebecca Clarke 4:33:50(PB), Davy Patterson 4:34:24 and Noel Harkin 4:43:19(PB).

Monday’s run was the end of four months training, early starts and long runs. Well done everyone, enjoy your well deserved rest.

A big thanks to the support crew Richard, David, Sam, Shannon, Shay, Tom, Valerie and Fiona your support around the course was appreciated by at the runners.

The 78th McConnell Shield Cross Country took place on Saturday in Sixmilewater Park, Ballyclare. The event, organised by East Antrim Harriers included under 14, under 16 and female races before the main race of the day the McConnell Shield.

Springwell’s Oisin Brennan finished third in the Boys U14 1 mile race in 5:42. In the girls race Holly Woodhead finished third in 6:18, Molly Brennan fifth in 6:27 and Rebekah Hunter 8th in 6:39. Luke Dinsmore won the Boys U16 2 mile race in 11:05.

Deborah Gilliland was Springwell’s sole representative in the ladies 3 mile race coming home in 19:39. The race was won by North Down’s Jessica Craig in 18:01.

The main race of the day was the McConnell Shield over five 1 mile laps of the park. North Belfast’s Niall Robinson led the field home in 26:27.

Neil Johnston was the first Springwell Runner home in 28:31 followed by Philip Tweedie 29:01, Conor Christie 29:52, Bryan Edgar 32:00 (Bryan also ran the Portrush Parkrun on Saturday morning), Ryan Murray 34:38, Philip Given 34:41, and Alistair Bratten 35:58.

The McConnell Shield awarded to the winning team was won by Annadale Striders.

Springwell’s Paralympic athlete Sally Brown and the Mayor of Coleraine Councillor Sam Cole were special guests at the Portrush Parkrun on Saturday. MC Peter Jack counted the runners down as the Mayor set them on their way. High tide, soft sand and biting cold winds made the run difficult for the 64 runners on their out and back run to the White Rocks. The first runner home was Adam Wilson 20:53 with Alison Rankin first lady 23:27.

Springwell Times - Bryan Edgar 2:53, David Jackson 22:03, Thomas Moore 22:25, Gerard Mullan 22:55, Graeme Morrison 23:02, Gemma Turley 23:50, Robert Workman 25:51, Dale Corbett 24:23 Cathal McFeely 24:38, Johnny Goldie 24:39, Jean Claude Bourgeois 24:44, Kenny Coulter 24:47, Graeme Montgomery 25:02, Ciara Toner 25:12, Stuart Pearson 25:28, Ailbhe Kendall 25:53, Mervyn Thompson 25:55, Gary Watton 26:38, Sarah Chestnutt 28:48, John Ferguson 29:04, Patricia Craig 29:28, Gerry O’Doherty 29:29, Lynn Montgomery 32:32, Kay Hack 32:39, Alan McKeeman 33:18, Rebecca Clarke 33:30, Caroline Taylor 33:30, Abby Tutty 34:04, Fiona Walls 37:40, Nicki Higgins 37:40, Jack Kendall 38:00, Katie Tutty 38:01 and Debbie Tutty 38:06.

The Parkrun relies on volunteers so if you would like to help out email Andy at PortrushHelpers@parkrun.com. If you would like to run and haven’t registered visit the website (www.parkrun.org.uk/portrush/) and register before 6.00pm on the Friday evening, print out your barcode and bring it with you on the Saturday morning.

Springwell’s Sally Brown received a special award for competing in the London Paralympics at the Coleraine Sports Awards on Friday evening. Membership Secretary and Coach Alistair Bratten was awarded the Chairman’s Award for services to sport. The club would like to congratulate Sally and Alistair on these well deserved awards.