Springwell runners compete at Lough Fea

The sixth and final race of Sperrin Harriers Winter League Series took place at Lough Fea, just outside Cookstown on Saturday.

With several of the categories remaining undecided going into the event an exciting days racing lay ahead; and spectators were not disappointed.
In the men’s race, it was North Belfast Harriers experienced Tommy Hughes who covered the 10 mile course quickest, clocking 55:13 to win clearly.  Sperrin Harriers’ duo Aidan O’Hagan and Pierce McCullagh battled it out right up until the finish, when Aidan surged ahead to take second place in 1:01:00 and Pierce claimed 3rd place in1:01:05.

Anne Paul (City of Derry), the leading lady in the series so far, continued her consistent run of fine performances with another victory leading the ladies home in 1:05:36, ahead of Springwell’s Alison Rankin (1:10:26) in second place and Omagh Harriers Caroline Miller (1:14:31) in third.

Springwell Times - Paul Thompson 1:02:22, David Jackson 1:03:07 (1st MO40), Bryan Edgar 1:03:38, Jim Breen 1:07:13 (1st MO55), Gerard Mullan 1:08:35, Alison Rankin 1:10:26 (2nd Female, 1st FO40), Johnny Goldie 1:12:21, Katherine Woods 1:18:55 (1st FO), Sarah Chestnutt 1:26:09, Catherine Pinkerton Moore and Gary Moore 1:29:24.

Congratulations to Bryan Edgar who secured a series win in the MO50 age category and Jim Breen the MO55 age category.

The Carlingford 10K and Half Marathon on Saturday attracted a total of six hundred and eighteen runners; is well known for its scenic course, which allows competitors to enjoy the beautiful surroundings of Cooley Penninsula, the Mourne Mountains, Ballagan Point, and Carlingford Lough before finishing in Carlingford Village.

Shane Lynch (Newcastle AC) 37:10 and Jenny Mulry (Raheny Shamrock AC) 39:58 were the major prize winners in the 10K. 
In the Half Marathon, Niall McCabe (Setanta Triathlon Club) put in a strong performance to break the tape in 1:16:30 and pre-race favourite Karen Alexander (Sperrin Harriers) had a comfortable win in the ladies race crossing the line in 1:22:48.

Springwell’s Damian McKeown dipped under the 1:30 coming home in 1:29:01. 

The Albertville 5 (Mile) Road Race, traditionally viewed as the opening fixture of the Northern Ireland Road Running season took place in Duncrue Industrial Estate, Belfast on Saturday.

Springwell’s sole representative at the race was Gemma Turley. Gemma ran well to finish third in 30:42 behind St Peter’s AC athlete Patricia O’Hagan in 29:50 and North Down’s Julie Balmer (29:57).

The men’s race was won by Brendan Teer (East Down) who completed the fast, flat course in 25:29 City of Derry’s Richard Johnston (25:44) took second place and Mourne Runners’ Andrew Annett (26:07) claiming third place.

High tide at 9.10am meant soft sand, add to that horses on the beach and conditions were tough for the Portrush Parkrunners on Saturday.

Springwell’s Rhodri Jones led the runners home in 20:30 with Louise Robinson first lady home in 25:25.

Springwell Times - Chris Denton 20:52, Andrew Dowey 22:45, Ryan Murray 23:15, Robert Workman 24:43, Nigel Armstrong 24:49, Mervyn Thompson 25:18, Grace Postma 25:35, Jean Claude Bourgeois 25:41, Gary Watton 25:51, Hermione Skuce 27:08, Gary Kendall 27:13, Kay Hack 29:45, Margaret Edgar 33:33 and the Smyth’s Stephen Abi and Hannah 52:53.

Jim Platt (23:03) and wife Agnes (35:32) completed the Waterworks Parkrun on Saturday.

Congratulations to Springwell’s ladies and gents cross country teams who both finished third in Athletics NI’s Cross Country League. This was a good performance from both teams and team captains Karen McLaughlin and Bryan Edgar deserve a lot of credit for getting so many of the clubs athletes out competing.