Success for locals in Dublin Marathon

editorial image

On Monday 28 October, Springwell Runners descended on Dublin for the 34th annual running of the Airtricity Dublin Marathon, which incorporated the AAI National Marathon Championships.

Thankfully, the record breaking field of 14,500 runners did not have to contend with the storms that had been forecast, but they did have to battle a headwind as they made their way along certain sections of the 26.2 mile course.  

The major prize winners were Sean Hehir (Rathfranham WSAF) in 2:18:21and Maria McCambridge (DSD AC) in 2:38:53.

Chris Denton (2:55:38) was the first Springwell Runner home followed by Stephen Joyce who was making his marathon debut and just missed the sub 3 mark finishing in 3:00:09, Chris Capper 3:09:15.

John Apperley 3:17:02 had an eventful run standing on a bottle at approximately 17 miles he went on to finish only to discover he had broke his foot.

Other times were as follows: Eddie Clyde 3:17:25, Andy Dowey 3:18:46, Karen McLaughlin 3:20:58 who knocked 13 minutes off her PB, Dave Sexton 3:21:56, Kevin McLean 3:25:59, Glen Millar 3:31:41, Linda Gillen 3:32:56, Nicola Frizelle 3:33:55,Paul Campbell 3:35:51, Pamela McGlade 3:36:27, Graeme Morrison 3:39:55, Gary Moore 3:45:21, Scott Bell 3:48:10, Tommy Bradley 3:47:21, Johnny Goldie 3:47:22, Robert Workman 3:47:57, John Butcher 3:49:23, David McClean 3:49:50, Catherine Pinkerton Moore 3:52:56 (PB), Davy Patterson 3:57:31, Jean Claude Bourgeois 3:58:04, Peter Jack 3:58:09, Alan McKeeman 4:03:28, Ali McAllister 4:10:15, Noel Harkin 4:36:51, Amanda Simpson 5:15:02, Beverly Gordon 5:35:44.

Well done to all the marathon runners the months of hard work paid off. Enjoy a well deserved rest. We wish John Apperley a speedy recovery.

The opening race in Sperrin Harriers Winter Trail Series was held at Davagh Forest just outside Cookstown on Saturday.

Over one hundred runners braved wet and blustery conditions to complete the undulating 10K course.

Allan Bogle (City of Derry AC) led the field home in 36:46 with Sperrin Harriers’ leading lady Karen Alexander first lady in 41:24.  

Springwell’s Ciara Toner, returning to competition after an injury lay off finished second lady in 43:57 and Jim Breen was the first male over 55 home in 44:26.

Fifty three runners braved the wind and the rain to complete the Portrush Parkrun on Saturday.

Colin Stevenson of Ballydrain Harriers was the first runner home in a PB time of 19:33, Springwell’s Sonia Knox was first lady in 21:06.

Springwell Times on the day were as follows: Andrew Dowey 20:22, David McAfee 21:06 (PB), Nigel Armstrong 21:42, Robert Workman 22:23, Mervyn Thompson 22:34, Johnny Goldie 23:26, Sarah Chestnutt 25:30, Kay Hack 26:13, Catherine Byers 30:08 (PB).