Success for Loreto runners at NEBSSA cross country event

editorial image

Loreto College had a very successful day at the annual NEBSSA Cross Country races, sponsored by NASUWT, on Monday 17th December, taking two team and two individual titles, among many excellent performances representing the school.

In the individual events, Abigail McBroom took first place in the Year 9 race, while Aoife Carr won the Year 10 race, having led the event from the very start. Both Abigail and Aoife represented the NEELB area at the Ulster Schools’ Cross Country Finals last year, an achievement which they will each now repeat.

In the team events, Loreto were dominant in the KS3 age groups, with the Year 8 and Year 9 boys’ teams each winning their event. Many members of the Year 9 boys’ team will, again, be representing the NEELB area in the Ulster Schools’ finals for the second consecutive year.

The Year 8 team members were: Danny Burns, Ben Culleton, Finlay Hutchinson, Cathal Kearney, Conleth Magee, Finn McEwan and (reserve) Eoin Tsang. The Year 9 boys representing Loreto College were: Oisin Brennan, Aaron Christie, Fearghal Close, Adam Kerr, Eamonn McLaughlin and Glen O’Donovan. The Year 8 Girls’ team also performed very well, with great performances in particular from Niamh Carr, Una Clarke and Oonagh Rafferty.

Meanwhile Abigail McBroom, winner of the Year 9 race, was well supported by her team, Anna Morrison and Victoria Tsang; had some members of the Year 9 girls’ team not been forced to miss the event through illness and injury, the team would probably have been in medal contention.

Among the Loreto Senior students who took part in the event, there was a great performance from Year 11 girls’ team Alana O’Donovan, Una Mellon and Oonagh Jordan, who finished just outside the medals in a very tough race. Likewise, there was a spirited performance from Year 11 boys Syeve Bondarenko, Shea Eastwood, Thomas Magee, Ola Owolabi and Daniel White in the 3200m event – two laps of a tough course.

Mr Paul Cunning, Cross Country Coach at Loreto College, paid tribute to all those who represented Loreto College at the event for their dedication and hard work both on the day and in preparation for the event. Mr Michael James, Principal of Loreto College, commended all the students and Mr Cunning on these remarkable results, and wished the students every success in the Ulster Schools’ finals next term.