Successful opening season for Ballybrakes club

Share this article

It’s hard to think that last August we thought the club would cease to exist but after extremely hard work and dedication by the new Management Committee the newly named Ballybrakes Community Indoor Bowls Club has just completed a very successful first season.

The league schedule was completed by Tommy Smith who kept the results up-to-date on a weekly basis. Each league had a large number of entries and it is hoped that this will increase next season. There was also fun bowls on a Wednesday afternoon and the ladies “Hat” on a Monday evening. The club had seven men and lady representatives who played for Ireland at the International Series last month.

The club also hosted short mat events during the season which included the IIBA U18 Junior Zone finals, Northern Zone pairs and Northern Zone championship finals, Coleraine & District League rinks and North West League pairs. The premises are available for hire during the summer months and anyone interested should contact Gary McCloy on 07737 281848.

The Club will re-open around the middle of September but further details will be announced during the summer.

Specsavers League winners and runners-up

Monday afternoon - Winners – Neville Lamont, Freddie Monaghan, Willy Harbinson, Jimmy O’Neill & Robert Campbell. Runners –Up – Robbie McClure, Maurice McCullagh, Jackie Fall and Jim McClure

Tuesday night - Winners – Maureen Robinson, Alice Elliott, Archie Robinson & Archie Scott. Runners-up – Willie Knight, Sam Mitchell, Richard Boyd and Robbie McClure

Thursday afternoon - Winners - Neville Lamont, Freddie Monaghan, Willy Harbinson, Jimmy O’Neill & Robert Campbell. Runners-up – Jim Daly, Stephen Roberts, Rae Daly & Archie Scott

Thursday night to be decided between - Robert McBride, Mark Jones, Simon Colvin & Gary Kelly against Brian Hughes, Maurice Smyth, Chrissie Brogan & Willie McCaw

Friday night - Winners – Noelle Graham, Robert McBride, Alistair Kennedy & Willie McCaw. Runners-up - Mark Jones, Donna McCloy, Trevor Colvin & Gary McCloy

Monday night Ladies “Hat” Winner Pat Calvin 210 shots - Runner-Up May McIlmoyle 192 shots

Wednesday afternoon “Hat” Winner Beverley Watton - 315 shots - Runner-Up Archie Gilmore – 243 shots

AIIB qualifiers for next season

Singles - Ian McClure, Gary Kelly, Barry Kane, Alistair Kennedy

U25 Singles - Gary Kelly, Simon Colvin. Mark Jones & Mark Mason

Pairs - A Kennedy & B Kane; B Hughes & W McCaw; R Allen & S Colvin; S Falls & N Robinson

Triples - G Kelly; G McCloy; R Calvin; I McClure

Fours - B Kane; H Elliott; I McClure; G Kelly

Finally good luck to Gary McCloy who is going to Warilla, Australia, to represent Ireland in the World Cup Singles from 9th – 17th April.