Three world champions herald new era of racing

Dane Ferry from Coleraine who will racing his Lightning Rod at the revamped Aghadowey raceway on Easter Monday. 15902KDR
Dane Ferry from Coleraine who will racing his Lightning Rod at the revamped Aghadowey raceway on Easter Monday. 15902KDR

A new era in north west motorsport will dawn on Easter Monday when top flight short oval stock car racing returns to Aghadowey.

The Aghadowey track has gone through a total revamp over the winter an a star studded field has been assembled by DMC Race Promotions for the grand opening of Aghadowey Oval, including no less than three World Champions!

Heading the bill will be the elite formula of the sport, the National Hot Rods. World Champion John Christie from Ballinderry will return to the former stomping ground of his father, the legendary five times World Champion Ormond Christie. John lifted the World title in Ipswich last July, and on Easter Monday will be hoping to land some valuable points towards qualification for this season’s big showdown.

Chasing Christie hard will be the current British Champion Glenn Bell from Portadown, with current form man Andrew Murray. Keith Martin and Stewart Doak are two other former champions who will be hoping for victory, alongside Limavady’s Gary O’Neill and other North West challengers David Gurney and Stephen McGonigle. With wheel to wheel racing at breakneck speeds the order of the day, the National Hot Rods are certain to be real crowd pleasers.

Stock Rods Irish Masters

World Champion Chris Lattka from Falkirk in Scotland will be the star attraction in the Stock Rods, as they contest the 2014 Irish Masters title. Lattka will be defending the crown he won at Dungannon’s Tullyroan Oval last year, but will face stiff opposition from the local aces. 2012 World Champion Chris Gordon from Ballymena is sure to be battling at the front of the pack, alongside fellow Ballymena racers Micky McFall and Victor McAfee. Newtownhamilton’s Stevie McNiece is another star name who will be keen on success, as well as local drivers Alastair Bolton and Thomas Morrison. Derek Conner and John McAllister will also be making the trip from Scotland for the event.

Lightning Rods

The meetings third World Champion in action will be Nigel Jackson, current holder of the Lightning Rods gold roof. The Sierra-based formula always produces some great racing, and Jackson will have his work cut out with a whole host of stars sure to be snapping at his heels. Coleraine’s Dane Ferry is the reigning NI Points Champion and always shows well, whilst other locals chasing the win will include Aaron Stewart and Norman Purdy. Carrick man Gary Beggs won the final last time out at Tullyroan, and alongside Jordan Rochford will be hoping for more of the same on the formula’s track debut.


The single seater Superstox will also be in action at Aghadowey’s Easter Eggstravaganza, with Irish Champion Kyle Beattie from Aughnacloy the star attraction. Londonderry’s Gregg Hyndman has been showing well of late and will relish the return to his most local track, whilst Banbridge duo Denver and Gary Grattan are great racers who always show a decent turn of speed. The bumpers on the cars can be put to good use, so expect action and thrills galore.

Thunder Rods

The final class on show will be the brand new Thunder Rods. These are born from the 1600 Lightning Rods which raced under the previous Aghadowey regime, and provide close, non-contact racing at an affordable cost. There has been lots of interest over the close season, and expect Garvagh’s Karl Smyth to be a front runner alongside local Aghadowey man Robert McIlroy. Coleraine’s Clifford Nevin and Amos McCloy, as well as Limavady aces Darrell Hanna and Samuel Montogomery are expected to be front runners in the exciting new formula.

The first race of the Murrays of Randalstown sponsored event blasts off the starting grid at 2pm, to signal the start of a full season of top class stock car racing at Aghadowey Oval.