Under-13s see off Glenullin in B Final

Share this article

Eoghan Rua’s young footballers followed on from where their senior hurlers had left off earlier last Saturday afternoon when they lifted the second title of the day beating neighbours Glenullin 6-5 to 0-5 in the final of the Elite Performance & Fitness Under-13 ‘B’ final.

While Eoghan Rua lifted the trophy the real winners were the spectators who witnessed two very skilfull young teams giving their all in a very entertaining game. Points from Devlin Donnelly and Aidan McGonigle had Eoghan Rua two up before the eventual winners scored their first goal in the 10th minute, midfielder Gino McGinn blasting through a ruck of players. Glenullin opened their account in the 12th minute but Coleraine finished the half very strongly. Liam Tosh added a point before two goals in as many minutes from Gino McGinn and Aidan McGonigle had Eoghan Rua in a commanding 3-3 to 0-1 lead at the break.

The Coleraine lads extended their lead within 20 seconds of the restart when Liam Tosh finished off a sweeping move straight from the throw-in. Glenullin then enjoyed their best spell when they scored three points in a row, however they really needed goals but the Eoghan Rua defence was in a mean mood and held firm throughout.

The eventual winners weaved some fine moves in the closing minutes as their neat passing and clever movement caused the Glenullin defence all sorts of problems. Further goals from Liam Tosh and Eoin Canning left the battling Glenullin side with a mountain to climb. Over the closing minutes the sides exchanged a couple of points each, Tosh and Canning on target for Coleraine, however that six goal onslaught was just too big a target for the battling Glenullin side. Derry coaching officer Chris Collins presented the Elite Performance & Fitness sponsored trophy to a delighted Eoghan Rua captain Devlin Donnelly.

The Eoghan Rua panel and scorers were: Calum Biggart, Aidan Boyle, Liam Ferris, Adam Kerr, Noah Lundy, Conaill McGinn, Devlin Donnelly (0-1), Gino McGinn (2-0), Oran Roughan, Aidan McGonigle (1-1), Eoin Canning (1-1), Dara McGoldrick, Liam Tosh (2-2), Oran Colgan, Oran Neiland, Joseph Mulholland, Calum Boorman, Pearse Donnelly, Matthew Moore, Colm Lynch, Ciaran Lafferty.