North West League hold Finals Night

Mr Ken McLenaghan, President of the North West Indoor Bowling League, held finals night in First Garvagh Prebyterian Church hall.

Ken welcomed the large crowd of spectators to Garvagh, and he wished all the competitors the best of luck and good bowling. First game on was the rinks. Uel Brewster, Edwin Irwin, Gary O’Kane and Alan Irwin (Loughanregh) were playing Liz Calvin, Norman Brewster, Andrew Kelly and William Calvin (Ballinrees). Ballinrees got off to a flying start picking up five shots in the first end. However Loughanreagh kept nibbling away and after six ends the scores were even. Ballinrees won the next two ends to open up a four shot advantage and although Loughanreagh won the ninth and final end it was not enough and Ballinrees were the victors, nine shots to seven.

In the triples final, James McKee, Gareth Steele and Ian Ross (Loughanreagh) were up against Chris Jones, Jacqueline Jones and Mark Jones (Finvoy Pres). Loughanreagh found the speed and line of the mat much faster than their opponents and after six ends lead 6-0. The Finvoy triple won the next end but it was only a temporary blimp for the Loughanreagh trio for they quickly increased their lead. Although Finvoy Won the last two ends the deficit was too much and the title went to Loughanreagh.

After a refreshing cup of tea, it was back to bowling.

In the ladies pairs, Jacqueline Jones and Elizabeth McAuley (Finvoy Pres.) took on Liz Calvin and Heather Arbuthnot (Ballinrees). The first three ends were very close but the Finvoy pair then got their act together and won the following five ends to build up an unbeatable score, running out 13 shots to two champions.

In the open pairs, Bertie McIntyre and Lesley McIntyre (Ballinrees) played Edwin Irwin and Nigel Gamble (Loughanreagh). This was a much closer game than the ladies and after five ends Loughanreagh just held a one shot advantage. Louhanreagh then went up a gear winning the next three ends to finish 9-4 victors.

Centre stage was held for the final of the singles. This is the trophy we all like to win and in a fitting final Trevor Workman (Moneydig) played Ian Ross (Loughanreagh). Ross went into a four shot lead but with both determination and skill Workman fought back to take a one shot advantage by end eight. Heads were changing with each bowl and the huge crowd were on their toes.

Ian Ross however overturned his one shot deficit to take a two shot lead which he held on to, to come out a true champion.

Mrs Joyce McLenaghan, the President’s wife then presented the prizes to the winners and losers. On closing President Ken congratulated the players on their high standard of bowling. He thanked Clifford McLernon, League Secretary, for organising the games and he also thanked Bryan Shaw for coming along to umpire the games.

Replying on behalf of the competitors Norman Brewster, congratulated Ken on his year of Presidency. He also thanked First Garvagh Presbyterian Church for the use of the hall and for the members of Garvagh and District Bowling Club for the lovely supper.