Portstewart is one of eleven Clubs making up the Provincial Towns’ Women’s Bowling Association with Ballycastle, Ballymena, Ballymoney, Coleraine, Dunluce, Kilrea, Limavady, Londonderry, Magherafelt and Portrush.

Tuesday, 23rd April 2013, 9:54 am

Each Club is offered in turn to take the Presidency of the PTWBA for one year, and this year Betty Linton has that honour in representing Portstewart.

On Wednesday afternoon, 10th April, Betty welcomed a large number of Ladies from all over Ireland to The Warren in Portstewart and unfurled the PTWBA flag to officially open the 2013 outdoor bowling season. The guests for the day were Mrs Dorothy McKee (Ballymena BC), President of the Irish Women’s Bowling Association; Mrs Elizabeth Boal (Belmont BC), President of the NI Women’s Private Greens Association; Mrs Marion McHugh (Whitehead BC), President of the NI Women’s Bowling Association; Mrs Kitty Roberts (Leinster BC), President of the Ladies Bowling League of Ireland and Mrs Maura Hickey, Deputy Mayor of Coleraine Borough Council. The Portstewart Ladies Bowling Club hosted the Celebration Dinner in the Lodge Hotel.

The ladies of all the Provincial Clubs would be delighted to welcome new members, so come on - have a go at delivering outdoor bowls. Do not think you have to be a pensioner, as our International bowlers, both male and female, are much younger nowadays. The Portstewart Ladies meet for practice on Monday and Thursday evenings at 6.30pm. Matches are played on Wednesday afternoons.